A big dong on the roof

Saturday night I’m writing quietly when I hear a massive dong on the roof. At first I thought it was kids chucking rocks. When I lived in Alice Springs in the 80s the kids there would stand in the bush next to the new developments in Sadadeen and fire rocks onto the tin roofs. Their David and Goliath act of resistance to the creeping development over their land was captured perfectly by my good friend Rod Moss in his painting Stoneslingers 1:

But this wasn’t a hard sound, like a rock makes. It was softer. A tennis ball? Or maybe a possum – they do get them round here. But there was no rolling of ball or scrappling of little feet.

I wasn’t going to give the kids the pleasure of going out and looking for whatever it was with a torch, and it was all quiet after anyway, so I left it.

Next afternoon I was out watering the lawn when I looked up and saw this weird shape on the roof. What could it be? I climbed up and retrieved it. I was, to say the least, a little surprised!

Only scroll down if you have a strong stomach!

!
!
!
!
!
!

I mean it.
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
Stop here if you get shocked by pictures of rude things.
!
!
!
!
!
Again, I mean it!
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
What more can I say? You’ve been warned.
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
My big dong!

2 thoughts on “A big dong on the roof

  1. I’ve said it before – we don’t have excitement like this in Newcastle!

    LR made the news this morning – fire in art gallery. Lots of people rushing in and saving stuff. God is not dead.

    Judith

    >

    Like

    1. Yes, it’s a HUGE deal here. As well as people saving the original Murray art works, someone paid the Snack Shack to provide sandwiches and drinks to the firemen and volunteers.

      Like

Leave a Reply

